Friday, April 29, 2011

The Strokes' Jullian Casablancas Goes Buddy Holly!

My main man of all men,The Strokes' lead vocalist Julian Casablancas will be singing the title track off the upcoming Buddy Holly tribute album 'Rave On'. The tribute album will celebrate the 75th birthday of the Rock and Roll legend who tragically died in a plane crash on February 3, 1959.

Other tribute artist on the compilation will include songwriting recluse Fiona Apple, Florence Welch of Florence + the Machine, Zooey Deschanel's She & Him and NYC legend Patti Smith.

I am super-duper ecstatic and looking forward to hearing Julian's take on Buddy Holly's Rockabilly classic due in stores on June 28 but in the mean time check out the original track below.

‘Rave On Buddy Holly’ Track Listing:
1. ‘Dearest’ – The Black Keys
2. ‘Every Day’ – Fiona Apple & Jon Brion
3. ‘It’s So Easy’ – Paul McCartney
4. ‘Not Fade Away’ – Florence + the Machine
5. ‘(You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care’ – Cee Lo Green
6. ‘Crying, Waiting, Hoping’ – Karen Elson
7. ‘Rave On’ – Julian Casablancas
8. ‘I’m Gonna Love You Too’ – Jenny O.
9. ‘Maybe Baby’ – Justin Townes Earle
10. ‘Oh Boy’ – She & Him
11. ‘Changing All Those Changes’ – Nick Lowe
12. ‘Words Of Love’ – Patti Smith
13. ‘True Love Ways’ – My Morning Jacket
14. ‘That’ll Be The Day’ – Modest Mouse
15. ‘Well…All Right’ – Kid Rock
16. ‘Heartbeat’ -The Detroit Cobras
17. ‘Peggy Sue’ – Lou Reed
18. ‘Peggy Sue Got Married’ – John Doe
19. ‘Raining In My Heart’ – Graham Nash

0 What Do You Think?:

template by